gitaneusa.com Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

gitaneusa.com Forum Index » Owner Gallery » '72 TdF Gitane

Rust bucket or Potential Diamond(small one)
rust bucket
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
potential diamond(a small one)
100%
 100%  [ 5 ]
Total Votes : 5

'72 TdF Gitane 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 2:22 pm Reply with quote
Squadra1
Very Happy Glad I (my wife) found this forum. I feel welcome already. From reading yur posts I feel at home with my bike brother nerds. Good to be with you all. I found this '72? TdF on Sunday for $20. I'm including a lot of pics for your info and to establish myself and machine. I am a bike tech by profession but restoring/preserving an old machine is new to me so I need some help. This bike was made before I was born. I would like help mainly with finding new old parts and preserving the metals. Solutions, sprays, tricks you all know, I would like to hear it. I've wiped down the frame and wheels loosly and need to inhibit the rust to the best of my ability. The RD pulleys have grown brittle and shattered(see pic). The FD is new era shimano. I would like to find Simplex replacements to match the era. Replacing the pulleys with modern compatible ones is a possibility. I would like to switch the stem with a longer one. I don't need original just the same era all the way around. My goal is to preserve and ride it on nice days to stay in touch with the past so I will appreciate the continued evolution of the industry. And for a personal tribute to the country that is so pivotal in the history of the machines we love and adore. Sorry, to sentimental for a newcomer. Check out the pics and share your opinions.