gitaneusa.com Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

gitaneusa.com Forum Index » Vintage Gitane » New to the Forum and TdF just acquired
New to the Forum and TdF just acquired 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:17 am Reply with quote
JustJan
Hello. I've been reading and learning TONS for a couple of weeks. I'm a budding mechanic (hobby mostly) and I've just gotten this bike to sell for a friend. Since I knew nothing about it, I've taken my time and researched for a while and determined this much. Just wondered if anyone here might have and be willing to share any other info. It's been fun learning about its history and fans.

Vintage Gitane Tour de France

Reynolds 531 frame, Color: gold
Size: 60 cm /
Pedals: Lyotard w/ Christophe leather toe straps
Rims: Super Champion / Gentleman 81
Rear derailleur: Simplex (needs new jockey wheels)
Front derailleur: Campognolo
Hubs: Campognolo
Cranks: Stronglite
Brakes: Superbe
Headset: Stronglite P3
Stem and handlebars: Mavic “Olympic Mod. Competizione Limite Edition”
Saddle: Leather Superleggero
Lugs: Bocama Medium Point

Research leads me to believe this is a 1972 model.
Reynolds 531 frame. Original decals plus “WARES” - bike shop in Milwaukee.
No dents or damage. Just a couple of small paint chips but no rust anywhere. This bike was well cared for and/or very lightly ridden.

Front tire does not hold air. Could use new tubes and tires both front and back.
Simplex rear derailleur pulleys are smooth and need to be replaced.

Saddle and post are not original. I pulled it out of the frame but it the post seems slightly too big for the frame so I do not want to force it back in without a proper measurement of both, first.

Comes with the original Gitane tool kit that was most likely sold with the bike new. Also included are an original in the box spare tube and patch kit in a tin.

1972 TdF 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:34 am Reply with quote
verktyg