gitaneusa.com Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

gitaneusa.com Forum Index » Vintage Gitane » 69/70 Tour De France bottom end issue
69/70 Tour De France bottom end issue 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:13 pm Reply with quote
69trdef
Hi all of you Gitane comandos I am a newbie. But, not to Gitane! As you are probably aware the bottom end retainers are problematic because they are both right hand threads. If yours will just not stay tight what is the work around? I really don't want to modify the bottom end, but changing the French thread to Italian has wondered thru my mind. With the Italian tread I could put in a left handed thread and problem solved. Also a bottom end cartridge may also be a total renovation. Tell me what you think. Easy on me I break! Oh, if you look at the home page for 70 tour De France that is what my bike looks like sort of, same color, lt. Blue. The rear derailleur drop is solid not lets say fanned out.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:19 am Reply with quote
69trdef
In addition to the above. It will take me sometime to post my own pictures because the bike is buried in my shed. I haven't worked on it in sometime but cause even in the 70's I could not come by the parts in my area, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. It is a nice bike just needs to be treated with the right kind of love. I would like to make it a rider but if not I'll clean it up and put it in my man cave, which my living room. Wink
Re: 69/70 Tour De France bottom end issue 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 11:14 am Reply with quote
scozim
69trdef wrote: