gitaneusa.com Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

gitaneusa.com Forum Index » Vintage Gitane » 1971 TDF Restoration - building to ride
1971 TDF Restoration - building to ride 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:36 am Reply with quote
TQ
Total novice here - Any comments, warnings, or advice would be much appreciated as I reassemble.

I am having a blast restoring my '71 TDF. I bought it 20 years ago for $30.00 at a garage sale. I had no idea what I bought, but could tell it was something special. It has been out of commission and stored for the last 10 years. I finally decided to break it down and rebuild it.

I am now in the process of putting everything back together. I am posting pictures here of it completely disassembled, and cleaned. Hours and hours of elbow grease, as you can see.

Questions / Comments I have ate this stage are;

1. The front simplex derailleur broke (I kept the part, but it will be the only non original part), would it ok to replace it with an inexpensive Shimano for now?

2. The orange frame paint has some chips and scratches. The paint is slightly dull, and seems fragile. The purist in me says; clean it, wax it and leave it, it'll look cool and be better off original. On the other hand, I have so much work into it, I could have it re-painted.

3. What would be the value of this bike in this condition?

4. I don't have the original seat, I'm going with a Brooks B17 honey brown leather saddle, and Salsa gel cork tape. It's expensive, but I think it will do this bike justice.

Thanks in advance.

Very Happy Very Happy

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:26 am Reply with quote
lofter
IMO,keep it original. Simplex stuff is pretty common on eBay . paint ain't that bad I've got worst in my collection .I like the orange bikes.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:37 am Reply with quote
gman309905
Welcome,