gitaneusa.com Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

gitaneusa.com Forum Index » Vintage Gitane » My Gitane TdF!
My Gitane TdF! 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 6:05 pm Reply with quote
the70sbike
Hello, I just discovered the forums here. My thanks to Gitane USA for making this possible.

I have a '73 (I think) Gitane Tour de France that I picked up a year or so ago on Ebay. I have long had an affection for Gitanes, as I worked in a shop that sold them as a teenager. I assembled lots Gitanes and did a lot of repair and maintenance, as well as selling a few.

My TdF was in pretty good original shape with about 400 miles registered on the Lucas odometer. I cleaned and repacked everything, set aside the original tubular wheelset (with the Tipo upgrade) and built a set of clinchers with Tipo hubs. The bar tape is original, too. I love the special feel of the Gitane and enjoy riding it as often as I can. The TdF is the bike I would have bought back in the day if I could have.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:46 pm Reply with quote
verktyg
Nice bike. I've never seen a metalic blue Gitane before 1975.

Chas.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 6:52 am Reply with quote
sandranian
Site Admin
Very nice bike. It looks almost new in the picture. Hopefully you will be a regular contributor to the site!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 7:01 pm Reply with quote
the70sbike
verktyg wrote:
Nice bike. I've never seen a metalic blue Gitane before 1975.

Chas.

Thanks!

It isn't really metallic, more like a candy apple type of finish. They used the same color on Gran Sport Deluxes back in my bike shop days and I always loved the color. It is faded just a bit but doesn't look too bad for being 30+ years old.